A DUI can have serious consequences. A DUI can affect your job, your personal life, and your reputation. We invite you to call us at (615) 783-1680 to discuss your case with no obligation. Nashville DUI attorney Ryan Caldwell consistently provides cost-effective, competent representation for all DUI cases. Ryan represents clients in Nashville, Murfreesboro, Franklin, Lebanon, Smyrna, Gallatin, Ashland City, Columbia, and all over Middle Tennessee.
WHAT IS A DUI?
If you are in physical control of any automobile or any other motor-driven vehicle while on a public road, highway, alley, public parking lot, trailer park, or any apartment complex in the State of Tennessee while under the influence of ANY intoxicant which affects your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle, whether prescribed or over the counter, you can be found guilty of DUI. A DUI conviction is a PERMANENT CONVICTION AND STAYS ON YOUR CRIMINAL RECORD FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE.
WHAT IS THE LEGAL LIMIT IN TENNESSEE?
The legal limit for alcohol consumption in Tennessee is .08%.
IF I AM CHARGED WITH DUI, WHAT ARE THE POSSIBLE OUTCOMES IN COURT IF I HIRE YOU AS MY LAWYER?
If you are charged with a DUI, there can be several potential outcomes. We will pursue every possible angle and defense to help you avoid being convicted of a DUI. In some instances, depending on how weak the State's evidence is, the case may be dismissed entirely and expunged. Usually, however, the most common outcome for our clients (depending on the county in which the client is charged) is the DUI gets reduced to Reckless Driving or Reckless Endangerment. Reckless Driving carries six months probation, no mandatory jail time and a fine of $250. In many cases, Reckless Driving can be expunged from your record. Reckless Endangerment carries a punishment of eleven months, twenty-nine days of probation, no mandatory jail time, and a fine of $350. Reckless Endangerment, like Reckless Driving, can also be expunged from your record in some circumstances. We are always happy to speak with you in further detail about these options and more.
I WAS ON PRESCRIPTION MEDICATION WHEN I WAS ARRESTED. CAN THE POLICE STILL CHARGE ME WITH DUI?
Yes. In fact, easily 30% of DUI cases we handle involve prescription drugs. Even if you have a valid prescription for the medication, the police can still arrest you for DUI, and the same penalties listed below will apply.
WHAT IF I REFUSE TO SUBMIT TO A BREATH OR BLOOD TEST?
You will be charged with violating the Implied Consent law. In addition, you can still be found guilty of DUI, and there is a very good chance you will lose your license for an entire year. However, in some cases Ryan is successful in persuading the State to drop Implied Consent charges, allowing clients to retain their driving privileges.
WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR A DUI CONVICTION?
DUI 1st Offense: A minimum punishment of 11 months, 29 days probation, with 48 hours to serve in jail, a fine of $350.00, a 12 hour Alcohol Safety School, a victim impact panel, loss of license for 1 year, and court costs. Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device.
DUI 2nd Offense: A minimum punishment of 11 months, 29 days probation, with 45 days to serve in jail day for day, a fine of $600.00, the Alcohol Safety School, loss of license for 2 years, and court costs.
DUI 3rd Offense: A minimum punishment of 11 months, 29 days probation, with 120 days to serve in jail day for day (no work release), a fine of $1,100, the Alcohol Safety School, loss of license for at least 6 years, and court costs.
DUI 4th Offense: A Class E Felony. A minimum punishment of 150 days in jail day for day, a $3,000.00 fine, a loss of license for 8 years, and extensive probation requirements.
DO YOU REPRESENT PEOPLE CHARGED WITH CRIMES IN OTHER COUNTIES?
Yes. Our office represents clients in Davidson, Williamson, Rutherford, Cheatham, Sumner, and Wilson counties. We represent citizens charged with criminal offenses all over middle Tennessee.